Mass in C, Op. 86 SATB (Ludwig van Beethoven)

By: Beethoven, Ludwig van

Sung By: Matthew Curtis

Runtime: 50 minutes

Major work: Mass in C, Op. 86 - Beethoven

Publisher: Carus Verlag

Publisher#: CA.4068803

Language: Latin

Instrumentation: Full Orchestra

SATB vocal soli, SATB choir, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, 2 violins, viola, basso (cello, double bass, organ) Missa in C. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Ernst Herttrich. This edition: Paperbound. Score available separately - see item CA.4068800. Latin Masses. Vocal score. Op. 86. 80 pages. Duration 50 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.4068803). Item Number: CA.4068803 ISBN M-007-09480-5. Language: Latin. With its tonal language of subjective avowal, the first of Beethoven's two masses opens up new worlds of expression for the liturgical texts of the Mass which are expressly modern and point towards the future. Not to be considered a preliminary work to the Missa solemnis, it is an entirely independent work which set standards for the further development of settings of the Mass in the 19th century. Its newness, of which the composer himself was fully aware ('I do not speak gladly of my Mass, or of myself, but I do believe that I have treated the text in a manner in which only few have treated it.'), paves a way to an hitherto unknown, contemporary avenue to faith which today is still current. Carus presents this important work of church music history in a new critical edition by the Beethoven expert Ernst Herttrich.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Mass in C, Op. 86 SATB (Ludwig van Beethoven)
Your Rating